Past Competitions

2022 Cybercrime Investigation Competition

Winning Teams

Team Hungary
First Place Winners
Rebeka Tóth, Mario Mile, and Zoltán Dienes

Team U.S.A.
Second Place Winners
Andrew Huertas, Michael Ross, and Shawn Xuyao

Team Brazil
Third Place Winners
Jose Anchieta Nery Neto, Ivo de Carvalho Peixinho, and Jamil Darub Trelles

2022 Student Paper Competition

The White Hat Conference Paper Awards were presented to the winning team of each participating institution. Teams, comprised of students and a faculty coach, were judged on original, unpublished papers presented at the 2022 White Hat Conference.


Boston University logo

First Place
Dynamics of Dark Web Financial Marketplaces: An Exploratory Study of Underground Fraud and Scam Business
Bo Ra Jung, Boston University

Bridgewater State University logo

Second Place
Kerberoasting: Case Studies of an Attack on a Cryptographic Authentication Technology
D. Demers, Bridgewater State University

2021 Cybercrime Investigation Competition

Winning Team

Team Hungary

2021 Student Paper Competition

The Cybercrime Investigation & Cybersecurity Paper Awards were presented to the top three teams (students and a faculty coach) who authored original, unpublished papers for presentations at the 2021 International White Hat Conference.


Jeeseon Hwang, Seoul University, South Korea
First Place Winner

Sydney L. Gero, University of Scranton, USA
Second Place Winner

Nayong Ko, Kyonggi University, South Korea
Third Place Winner

Yeonjae Park, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Third Place Winner

  • Dr. Sinchul Back Assistant Professor at the University of Scranton
  • Edward Bradstreet Special Agent, Department of Homeland Security, Homeland Security Investigations (HSI)
  • Fabio Bruno Head of INTERPOL Digital Forensics Laboratory, Innovation Centre, Singapore
  • Dr. Lou Chitkushev Associate Dean, Boston University Metropolitan College
  • Dr. Kyung-shick Choi Founder of the White Hat Conference; Director of Cybercrime Investigation & Cybersecurity Programs, Boston University Metropolitan College
  • Dr. Sinyong Choi Assistant Professor in the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice, Kennesaw State University
  • Dr. Kyungseok Choo Associate Dean of the School of Social Science, Communication and Humanities and Professor and the Director of Homeland Security Graduate Programs, Endicott College
  • Thomas Dearden Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech
  • Diana DiZoglio Auditor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • Dr. Gergely Dzsinich Attorney, Executive Advisor, Adjunct Professor
  • Jan Ellermann Senior Specialist, Europol
  • Richard Frawley Director of Training with ADF Solutions
  • Dr. Austen Givens Associate Professor of Cybersecurity, Utica University
  • Justin Gramajo
  • Chris Kayser
  • Ilia Kolochenko Founder, CEO, and Chief Architect, ImmuniWeb
  • Jon Korhonen Assistant Dean of Admissions, Boston University Metropolitan College
  • Jacquelyn Lamont Supervisor of the Forensic Interview (FI) Team and the Director of Youth Safety and Outreach for the Suffolk County District Attorney’s Office (SCDAO) and Children’s Advocacy Center (CAC) of Suffolk County
  • Dr. Jennifer LaPrade Assistant Professor, Criminology, Missouri State University
  • Dr. Hannarae Lee Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice; Co-chair of Cybercriminology and Cybersecurity Graduate Certificate Program, Bridgewater State University
  • Dr. Cathy Marcum Chair of Division of Cybercrime, ASC; Professor of Justice Studies, Appalachian State University
  • Meghan Martinez Director of Cyber Range Programs for CyberTrust Massachusetts
  • Thomas Meier Chief Information Officer, Commonwealth of Massachusetts Office of the State Auditor
  • Ismael Morales Assistant Professor, Boston University, White Hat Competition Director
  • Madeleine Nay Intelligence Analyst with the Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Insun Park Assistant Professor, University of Akron
  • Katalin Parti Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech
  • Ashley Polin Chief of the Human Trafficking and Child Exploitation Unit at the Suffolk County District Attorney’s Office
  • Mary Speta Executive Director, Amirah, Inc.
  • Nick Steegmans Senior Cryptocurrency Investigator, CipherTrace
  • Marlon Mike Toro-Alvarez Lieutenant colonel ® Colombian National Police; Research & Teaching Assistant at Southern Illinois University Carbondale
  • Dr. Tanya Zlateva Dean, Boston University Metropolitan College